Help ME – Scraper Site Stealing my content

I had a site that made me almost $40 a day and then someone leached it. They didn’t give credit back or anything. I figured Google would fix the problem by blocking it from their search engine. Instead the black-balled me.

So now someone is leaching (stealing) all of my content from moremerchant.com. What should I do to protect myself? I have reported it to their webhost, but no response yet. It is registered with Godaddy. Should I contact them? Anyone know what is the best way to make sure I don’t get hit with another Google pagerank slap?

I am often scraped, but normally I get a link back. This guy isn’t even linking me back. He is even stealing all of my graphics. It is straight stealing and Google has him ranking better than me in some search results.

HELP! The site has removed most of if not all of the posts it scraped from me. Still other sites may want to go check if their content is stolen.

Pass This Post!
  • Digg
  • Technorati
  • Sphinn
  • StumbleUpon
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Tagged with:
 

8 Responses to “Help ME – Scraper Site Stealing my content”

  1. MoreMerchant says:

    Here is one: r6k.net/2007/12/22/christmas-presents-from-google-adsense-and-ypn
    Another: r6k.net/2007/12/22/firefox-3-beta-2-download/
    Another: r6k.net/2007/12/22/adsense-ypn-and-text-links/
    There are many posts that he is stealing from moremerchant.com and other blogs.

    My posts are now deleted. You may want to check if your posts are also being stolen. If you are going to steal my information, please link me, then I won’t fuss nearly as much unless you get out of control.

  2. M says:

    $ whois -h whois.register.com rk6.net

    Owner Contact:
    Axel Schulze

    Lilienthalallee 100
    Geilenkirchen, D-52511, DE

    Punycode Name: rk6.net
    Unicode Name: rk6.net

    Admin Contact
    Axel Schulze

    renraku6@gmx.de
    Lilienthalallee 100
    Geilenkirchen, D-52511, DE
    phone: +49 2451929331

    Technical Contact
    Hostmaster Strato Rechenzentrum
    Cronon AG Professional IT-Services
    hostmaster@cronon-isp.net
    Emmy-Noether-Str. 10
    Karlsruhe, D-76131, DE
    phone: +49 72166320305

    Zone Contact
    Hostmaster Strato Rechenzentrum
    Cronon AG Professional IT-Services
    hostmaster@cronon-isp.net
    Emmy-Noether-Str. 10
    Karlsruhe, D-76131, DE
    phone: +49 72166320305

    Record expires on: 2008-01-08 01:13:42

    Domain servers in listed order:

    shades15.rzone.de
    docks19.rzone.deVisit AboutUs.org for more information about rk6.net

    AboutUs: rk6.net

  3. les says:

    Hi
    There is one slow and tedious way to stop them. Write a phony post that has in its in a paragraph in the middle – ‘this post stolen from xxxxx’ where x is your site and a link back to it.

    Wait until they have grabbed your new post – delete it and post your real one.

    You can even fill the post with undesirable content too – good idea to check and see what their host doesn’t like and use that. If you are worried about your site – get an idea of what time they steal yours and post the phony one just before that.

    Always bad news. Have a great Christmas.

    the radical blogger

  4. Jay says:

    Well, damn. They stealing ALL your content AND graphics… that sucks.

    Um, anyways, Merry Christmas Jake, hope you had a good one!

    Jay

  5. Lynne says:

    I’m sure you did this all ready, but did you contact Google?

  6. Dale says:

    Contact their ISP, Contact there web hosting provider, and contact the data centre for that country

    Dale
    http://dzrbenson.com/blog/

  7. unTECHy says:

    You’ll have to be sneaky, but find out what IP they visit you from.

    Once you know their IP address, just block them from your server.

    Or even better, write a code that redirects them to a porn site when they visit from their IP. That would be funny.

    It’s not a 100% solution, but you could at least mess with them some.

Leave a Reply



Links: